• qui. fev 22nd, 2024

Exploring the 22 Scheduled Languages of India

India is a multicultural and multilingual country with a diverse linguistic heritage. This is why India has 22 different languages designated as official “Scheduled Languages”. These 22 languages are recognized and protected by the Indian Constitution and are given special status due to their historical and cultural significance.

Let us explore the 22 Scheduled Languages of India:

1. Assamese: Spoken mainly in the state of Assam and parts of Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, and Nagaland.

2. Bengali: Commonly spoken in the eastern states of West Bengal, Tripura and parts of Assam.

3. Bodo: The language is primarily spoken in the northeastern states of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, and West Bengal.

4. Dogri: This language is predominantly spoken in the Jammu region of Jammu and Kashmir.

5. Gujarati: Spoken widely in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

6. Hindi: This is the official language of India and is spoken widely in the northern and central parts of India.

7. Kannada: The primary language of the south Indian state of Karnataka.

8. Kashmiri: Spoken in the Kashmir Valley and parts of Himachal Pradesh, Pakistan-administered Kashmir, and Pakistan.

9. Konkani: The official language of the Indian state of Goa and is also spoken in Maharashtra and Karnataka.

10. Maithili: This language is spoken mainly in Bihar and parts of Jharkhand.

11. Malayalam: Spoken widely in Kerala and the union territory of Lakshadweep.

12. Manipuri: The majority of Manipuri speakers are found in the northeastern state of Manipur.

13. Marathi: Widely spoken in Maharashtra, Goa, and Karnataka.

14. Nepali: This language is spoken mainly in the northern states of India, including Sikkim and parts of West Bengal, Uttarakhand, and Uttar Pradesh.

15. Odia: Primarily spoken in Odisha and parts of Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, Jharkhand, and Chhattisgarh.

16. Punjabi: Spoken in the northern Indian states of Punjab, Haryana, and Delhi.

17. Sanskrit: It is one of the oldest languages in the world and is still used in the Hindu religious texts.

18. Santali: The language is spoken mainly in the states of West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, and Odisha.

19. Sindhi: It is primarily spoken in the Sindh province of Pakistan and parts of Gujarat, Rajasthan, and Maharashtra.

20. Tamil: This language is the primary language of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

21. Telugu: The primary language of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

22. Urdu: Spoken in the northern Indian states of Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, and Jammu and Kashmir.

The 22 Scheduled Languages of India have rich histories and extensive literature. They also offer insight into India’s multicultural and multilingual heritage, attracting visitors from around the world interested in exploring the country’s vibrant and diverse culture.

In conclusion, India’s linguistic diversity is one of its most significant cultural treasures, and these 22 scheduled languages serve as a testament to its rich heritage. Visitors to India can explore these languages and learn more about their unique histories and cultures that have helped shape Indian society.

Deixe um comentário

O seu endereço de e-mail não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios são marcados com *